COF Header Image

About the College of Fisheries

Historical Background:

The Northeastern part of India is well known for its rich biological and cultural diversity. People in the region ate heavily dependent on agriculture and allied activities to meet their livelihood. Highly varied climatic conditions of the region, demands advanced agricultural technologies as well as well trained manpower. Recognizing these regional needs to be urgent, the Government of India, established the Central Agricultural University (CAU) with its headquarters at Imphal, Manipur through the Central Agricultural University Act, 1992, No. 40 dated 26th December 1992. The act passed through the parliament has provision for the establishment of Agricultural Education Institutes in the northeastern states of India, covering the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura.

Establishment of College of Fisheries:

Tripura has rich traditions in fisheries as compared to all the states under the jurisdiction of CAU and possess greater potentialities for fisheries related activities. Hence, the Central Agricultural University decided to locate the college of fisheries in the State. Through the Ordinance No 2 of 1996 promulgated by the ministry of Agriculture, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), Government of India, the College of Fisheries started functioning from 3rd October 1998 and become the 12th Fisheries College of the Country established under the Agricultural University Education System. The College was shifted to its own campus at Lembucherra in September 2001. The campus has a total area of 61.36 acres provided by the State Government. The place is well connected with the capital city Agartala and located at about 12 km north of the capital city.

Hall of Fame : Our Vice-Chancellors


Hall of Fame : Dean College of Fisheries